Trending March 2024 # Xiaomi Mi 4C Review: Half The Price Of The Nexus 5X, But No Rival # Suggested April 2024 # Top 10 Popular

You are reading the article Xiaomi Mi 4C Review: Half The Price Of The Nexus 5X, But No Rival updated in March 2024 on the website Moimoishop.com. We hope that the information we have shared is helpful to you. If you find the content interesting and meaningful, please share it with your friends and continue to follow and support us for the latest updates. Suggested April 2024 Xiaomi Mi 4C Review: Half The Price Of The Nexus 5X, But No Rival

Pros

Cons

Our Verdict

On paper the Xiaomi Mi 4C is an excellent mid-range Android phone, with a fantastic spec for the money – it’s half the price of the Nexus 5X and can be just as fast. There’s a generous battery, a fairly good camera and some interesting new features such as USB-C. However, our benchmarking showed overheating to be a problem, and the issues we experienced with software out of the box make it difficult to recommend to less techie users.

Well, we finally got our hands on a Xiaomi phone (thanks Geekbuying), but while our first impressions were strong we didn’t get the happy experience out of the box we were hoping for. Find out more in our Xiaomi Mi 4C review. Also see:

Also see: Best Black Friday Phone Deals

The Xiaomi Mi 4C looks on paper (and in the flesh) to be a fantastic device, half the price of the similarly specced  Nexus 5X with performance that can be just as fast. But ‘can be’ is the key point here, as overheating issues plagued our review sample during our benchmarks. We’ll talk more about this in the Hardware & performance section of this review.

We also had issues with some less-than-user-friendly preinstalled software, although these were easily rectified as we’ll discuss in the Software section. Also see: Best Android phones 2024/2024.

Xiaomi Mi 4C review: Price & UK availability

The Xiaomi Mi 4C is available in two versions: the standard model with 16GB of storage and 2GB of RAM, as reviewed here; and a 32GB of storage, 3GB of RAM ‘Advanced’ version that should offer improved performance.

grey-market tech.

Our standard Xiaomi Mi 4C was supplied by Geekbuying, which charges £159.20 at the time of writing with free shipping to the UK. This version has a very closely matched spec to the 16GB Nexus 5X, which is available in the UK for £339 – more than double the price of the Xiaomi Mi 4C. Check out our review of the Nexus 5X.

Geekbuying also sells the Mi 4C Advanced for £180.41 at the time of writing. If we were a paying customer we’d be inclined to opt for this version, given the small difference in price, the expected improved performance and the fact that there’s no possibility of expanding storage via microSD in either model. (There are other ways to add storage to Android, of course.)

Xiaomi Mi 4C review: Design & build

For a £150 phone made of plastic (albeit with a metal inner frame for enhanced rigidity and durability) the Xiaomi Mi 4C is actually really quite good-looking. A thin slab just 7.8mm thick, it has a soft-touch coating that feels great in the hand. There’s no creaking or flexing – this phone feels very well made.

The screen-to-body ratio is high, with some pretty slim bezels. For a phone that has a 5in screen the Mi 4C is extremely well proportioned, just 138.1×69.9mm. It’s also lightweight, at 132g, without feeling like a toy. Also see: Best budget phones 2024/2024.

If you’re thinking the Xiaomi Mi 4C looks familiar, that’s because it’s identical to the Mi 4i. In fact, it is pretty much the Mi 4i with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 808 chip inside and the addition of a futureproof USB-C port for data transfer and charging. Also see: Best MiFi 2024.

Available in black, white, pink, blue or yellow the Xiaomi Mi 4C can be elegant or fun in its appearance. The rear cover is not removable, though, so be sure which model you want before you buy. Our review sample is white.

You’ll find buttons and connectors in all the usual places, with a metal-effect volume rocker and power button high up on the right edge, a 3.5mm headphone jack and IR blaster at the top, a dual-SIM tray that pops out from the left edge and a USB-C port on the bottom. Turn over the phone and there’s a 13Mp camera with two-tone flash in the upper left corner, and a speaker grille that is slightly raised off the surface of a desk by a small plastic protrusion to help prevent the sound being muffled. 

The screen is a plus point, with a 5in full-HD (1920×1080 pixels) IPS panel with a sharp pixel density of 441ppi. Contrast is excellent, though the screen could be brighter – we found ourselves using it at maximum brightness at all times.

That said, this is a ‘Sunlight display’ that is claimed to be much easier to view in all conditions. We weren’t blessed with any sunshine at the time of our review, but we certainly didn’t have any problems reading the screen outdoors.

A slight quibble with the screen is that we’re not convinced it will fend off accidental scratching too well. It’s rather keen on fingerprints, too. Also see all Android phone reviews.

Xiaomi Mi 4C review: Hardware & performance

The Xiaomi Mi 4C has the same core hardware as the Nexus 5X, with a 1.8GHz hexa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 808 64-bit chip, Adreno 418 graphics and 2GB of LPDDR3 RAM (3GB in the 32GB Advanced model). Both feature full-HD IPS screens, although the Nexus’ is slightly larger at 5.2in against the Xiaomi’s 5in. On paper, performance should be very closely matched. 

And it is – when the Xiaomi Mi 4C is cold. (You can compare the Xiaomi Mi 4C’s performance to other Android phones we’ve recently tested in our article What’s the fastest smartphone?)

On our second attempt we found very good performance that is right up there with the Nexus 5X. In Geekbench 3, for example, we measured 1251 points in the single-core component and 3233 in multi-core. By comparison, the Nexus 5X scored 1240 single-core and 3528 multi-core. But each time we ran Geekbench 3 the Mi 4C began to heat up and our results very quickly fell off a cliff – to the extent that we were unable to get higher than 650 points single-core and 2027 multi-core. See all smartphone reviews.

We also ran AnTuTu on the Xiaomi Mi 4C from cold and recorded a very good 54,250 score. When the phone began getting warm this dropped to 44,818 points.

We saw the same results in every benchmark we ran. In SunSpider (using Google Chrome) we recorded 496ms cold, which is incredibly good, but 1369ms warm (lower is better in this test). The Nexus 5X averaged 672ms.

We also ran the intensive GFXBench graphics test. The 5X completed this test with results of 16fps in Manhattan and 38fps in T-Rex. Despite housing the same processor and graphics chip the Xiaomi Mi 4C could handle only 15fps in Manhattan and 34fps in T-Rex. As it became warm, this dropped to 11fps in Manhattan and 23fps in T-Rex.

These aren’t small differences we’re talking about here. It’s important to point out that the Xiaomi Mi 4C feels fast and responsive in real-world use, but our benchmark results show how performance can rapidly deteriorate as you use the phone.

It’s also worth pointing out that the Advanced Mi 4C should be faster with its extra gig of RAM, but we can’t promise that it won’t suffer the same overheating issues. The Advanced version does, however, offer an extra 16GB of storage, which will likely prove useful given that the preinstalled software takes up a huge chunk of that available (just over 10GB is available to the user) and the fact there’s no microSD slot.

Xiaomi Mi 4C review: Connectivity & extras

The Xiaomi Mi 4C can accept two Micro-SIM cards. It’s a dual-standby model, although both SIM slots can support 4G. Unlike some other Chinese dual-SIM phones we’ve seen, you cannot use the second SIM slot to insert a microSD card. Also see: Best dual-SIM phones 2024/2024.

When buying a phone from abroad you should always check the frequency bands it offers to ensure that it will be compatible for your home network. Those in the UK should note that this Xiaomi Mi 4C does not support the 800MHz LTE band, which means O2 customers (and customers of operators that use O2’s network, such as GiffGaff) will not be able to use 4G data. The 1800MHz and 2600MHz 4G LTE bands are both covered. Also see: How to check whether a phone is supported by your network.

A standout feature here is the IR blaster, which we’re seeing in fewer flagships these days. The Mi 4C also supports 802.11ac Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.1, GPS and GLONASS, OTG and Miracast. NFC is not supported, and neither is there a fingerprint scanner, but there is a reversible USB-C data transfer and charging port, which we should see in more and more Android phones throughout 2024. Also see: Best Chinese phones 2024/2024.

Xiaomi Mi 4C review: Cameras

The Xiaomi Mi 4C is fitted with a 13Mp Sony IMX 258 camera with phase-detection autofocus and a two-tone flash at the rear, and a 5Mp front camera. You can switch between the two cameras with a swipe up or down on the screen.

The selfie camera on the whole works very well. However, we noticed in our testing that it will try to work out how old you look in the shot. And it had some difficulty in deciding whether it was looking at a 25-year-old female or a 50-year-old male. One I would take as a compliment, and the other a little rude.

Real-time filter previews are accessible with a swipe in from the right side of the screen. Swipe in from the left to access all the usual shooting modes including HDR, Panorama, Fish eye, Tilt-shift and Beautify (note that these aren’t available for the selfie camera). In Manual mode you can control the white balance, focus, exposure time and ISO. Video recording tops out at 1080p. Also see: Best phone camera 2024/2024.

Our test shots from the Xiaomi Mi 4C were reasonably good, full of detail and with great colours. HDR improves things, and we’d recommend leaving it on all the time. You can see a couple of our test shots below.

Here’s a 100 percent crop of the photo above: detail is a soft in places, but we couldn’t work out if it was post-processing causing the issue, or the lens.

Edge Tap lets you tap the left side of the device (the top when held sideways) set the focus, and a second tap triggers the shutter. However, this is bad idea: you’re shaking the camera and there doesn’t appear to be any image stabilisation to compensate (not that we can fault the Mi 4c at this price). Here’s what happens when you tap – even lightly – to take a photo. Parts are in focus, while other parts are blurred. Look at the clock tower, too – it’s wonky.

Macro shots show the camera is capable of some great-looking photos:

The 100 percent crop below shows it can’t resolve fine detail like the Nexus 5X can:

Colours are saturated making greens in particular look great:

Again, zoom in 1:1 and detail is soft:

Xiaomi Mi 4C review: Software

The Xiaomi Mi 4C runs the MIUI 7 operating system, which is based on Android 5.1 Lollipop. Out of the box we had an awful first impression of MIUI 7.

Before the phone was shipped to us an unofficial version of MIUI 7 had been preinstalled (with the version number 77.00.44.00). We expect this is because out of the box Xiaomi phones don’t run Google apps, including the Google Play store. (Xiaomi phones do have their own app store preinstalled, but language is a barrier here for UK users.)

The good news is its really easy to install the official version of MIUI 7 and then sideload Google apps. Here’s a step-by-step guide:

1. Browse to

2. Plug your Xiaomi Mi 4C into your computer using the USB-C cable. Open a file manager window to browse its contents and drop the downloaded file on to its internal storage. 

3. Now open the Settings menu on your phone and scroll down to About phone. At the bottom of the screen you’ll see a System updates option; tap this. 

4. Tap the three dots at the top right of the screen and select ‘Choose update package’. Browse to the downloaded file on your phone and follow the instructions to install it.

5. When our phone rebooted some of the features that had previously been preinstalled were still present, so we performed a factory reset (Settings, Additional Settings, Backup & reset, Factory data reset, enable Erase stored content, Reset phone). This will wipe the Google apps from the phone, but it’s easy to get them back.

6. Back on your PC or Mac download the Google Installer apk from

9. Once installed you’ll see a list of Google apps you can install, including the Play Store. You will likely find it will prompt you to download and install the Google Services Framework before you can install the Play Store, so accept this installation when prompted.

10. Following our installation of the Play Store we found some apps within the store were reported as not being compatible with our device – AnTuTu was one of them. However, it’s very easy to search online for their apk file and then install it to the Mi 4C in exactly the same way you just installed the Google Installer apk.

Having set up our Xiaomi Mi 4C with MIUI 7 as it was intended (albeit with the addition of Google apps, given that you are intended to sign in with your Mi account rather than your Google account), our experience with the phone was infinitely better, and we did begin to see what the fuss is all about with Xiaomi phones. However, it has to be said there is an awful lot of preinstalled software on this device – with Xiaomi’s own apps for just about everything you can think of, including the aforementioned Chinese app store and its own virus scanner, just 10GB was available to the user.

It is a nice UI, though, with plenty of customisations. In common with iOS there’s no app tray, which means everything is visible on the home screen. It’s easy to group apps into folders by dragging and dropping them on top of each other, though.

A pinch on the home screen brings up options to move apps, add widgets and alter the wallpaper and effects (the transitions as you move between home screens). A selection of Themes are also available from the Settings menu.

Pull down from the top of the screen and rather than your quick settings (these are available with a swipe from the right) you’ll find recent notifications. 

We like the idea of the Xiaomi Mi 4C’s Edge tap feature, which lets you go back a screen with a tap on the device’s left edge, or take a photo with a double-tap of the device’s left edge when the camera app is open. However, it seems an odd thing to want to do to knock the phone as you’re about to take a photo (most people would want to hold it steady), and the tap to go back feature seemed to be a little laggy at times.

Another notable addition to MIUI 7 is a one-handed mode, which can shrink the phone’s display down to either 3.5- or 4in to make it easier to use in a single hand. This works on either the left or right side of the screen, suiting both lefties and righties, although we found it quite difficult to turn on (you must tap the home button and swipe to either the left or right depending on which side you want to use the screen).

We also like the Child mode, which lets you allow access only to certain apps installed on your phone before handing it over to the kids.

Read next: Best new phones coming in 2024

Follow Marie Brewis on Twitter.

Specs Xiaomi Mi 4C: Specs

1.8GHz Snapdragon 808 64-bit hexa-core processor

MIUI 7 (based on Android 5.1 Lollipop)

Adreno 418 graphics

5in full-HD (1920×1080, 441ppi) IPS touchscreen with Sunlight display

Edge tap

16GB of storage and 2GB of LPDDR3 RAM (reviewed here) or 32GB of storage and 3GB of LPDDR3 RAM

dual-SIM dual-standby (both 4G Micro-SIM, but no support for 800MHz 4G)

dual-band 802.11ac Wi-Fi

Bluetooth 4.1

GPS

OTG

IR blaster

13Mp Sony IMX258 camera with two-tone flash, phase-detection autofocus and 0.1s autofocus

5Mp front camera

3080mAh battery

USB-C with Quick Charge support

138.1×69.6×7.8mm

132g

available in black/white/pink/blue/yellow

You're reading Xiaomi Mi 4C Review: Half The Price Of The Nexus 5X, But No Rival

Everything You Need To Know About The Xiaomi Mi Band 5

Our verdict: Xiaomi Mi Band 5 review

Also read: The best fitness trackers you can buy

The Mi Band 5 also gets several new sports modes, bringing the total up to 11 in all. In contrast, the Mi Band 4 offered a total of six sports modes. It’s nice to see more indoor activity features on the Mi Band 5. Check out all the new sports modes below.

Outdoor running

Treadmill

Cycling

Walking

Freestyle

Pool swimming

Elliptical (New)

Rowing machine (New)

Jump rope (New)

Indoor cycling (New)

Yoga (New)

Besides the added sports modes, the Mi Band 5 gets many new tracking features and improvements.

Improved sleep tracking

The Mi Band 5 now has improved sleep monitoring, with continuous heart rate tracking as you snooze. Xiaomi claims this will help identify sleep problems such as irregular and sporadic sleep patterns and rapid eye movement. Based on the data collected, the app will give you suggestions on how to improve your sleep quality.

Blood oxygen tracking

The Chinese Mi Band 5 also gets a built-in SpO2 or blood oxygen tracker. This was absent from the Mi Band 4. The tracker can apparently detect your blood oxygen saturation levels every second for eight hours in a row. That’s a total of 28,800 readings in a span of eight hours. This continuous SpO2 monitoring is also aimed at improving sleep quality. It will work in tandem with the Mi Band 5’s sleep tracking function to provide more comprehensive sleep quality feedback.

Women’s health and PAI scoring system

Other new features include menstruation cycle tracking, breath training, remote control for your smartphone camera, and a new PAI Vitality Index. PAI stands for Personal Activity Intelligence and is a feature borrowed from Huami’s Amazfit wearables. It essentially gamifies health tracking by giving you a score between 1-100 based on your daily activity and heart rate.

Magnetic charging

Jimmy Westenberg / Android Authority

Apart from the new sports modes and tracking features, the Mi Band 5 also brings a major design tweak. Traditionally, all Mi Bands have had to be popped out of their silicone straps for charging. The new Mi Band 5 does away with that hassle and brings all-new magnetic charging onboard.

The band has a 100mAh battery which, Xiaomi claims, can keep the lights on for up to 14 days on a full charge.

See also: Does the Xiaomi Mi Band 5 work with Xiaomi Mi Band 4 straps?

NFC and voice assistants

In China, the Mi Band 5 includes support for NFC and the XiaoAI voice assistant. The Russian variant of the Mi Band 5 launched with NFC, but the global model lacks this option. In fact, it lacks NFC, SpO2 tracking, and a voice assistant.

Now that you know all that’s new with the Mi Band 5, here’s a quick table summarizing the specs.

Fitbit Inspire 2: The Inspire 2 is the best gateway Fitbit thanks to its included year-long Fitbit Premium trial for new users. It is much pricier than the Mi Band 5, though.

Check pricing

HUAWEI Band 6: HUAWEI’s surprise fitness tracking hit of 2023 packs an SpO2 sensor, a large, bright smartwatch-like screen, and excellent battery life. The Band 6 is relatively cheap, too.

Check pricing

Amazfit Band 5: If you’re looking for a near carbon copy of the Mi Band 5, the Amazfit Band 5 is that product. It’s effectively an upgraded Mi Band 5 that’s also available in the US. It includes an SpO2 sensor and a two week battery life.

Check pricing

Xiaomi Mi Band 5: Price and availability

Jimmy Westenberg / Android Authority

The Xiaomi Mi Band 5 launched with the same affordable price tag as its predecessor. In China, the regular variant of the Mi Band 5 without NFC debuted at 189 yuan (~$29). Meanwhile, the version with NFC landed at 229 yuan (~$36).

Bear in mind that these were launch prices, so expect the Mi Band 5 to cost a lot less now that it has been around for more than a year.

The Mi Band 5 is also available in Europe and the UK as the Mi Smart Band 5 (albeit without NFC, SpO2 tracking, and voice assistance). You can buy the global Mi Band 5 for $39 on Amazon. Meanwhile, you can pick up the Xiaomi Mi Band 5 in India for Rs 2,999 (~$40).

Xiaomi Mi Band 5

A bit older, but also a bit cheaper

Xiaomi makes great cheap fitness trackers, and the Mi Band 5 is no exception. For well under $50, you get a bigger display, more trackable sport modes, 24-hour heart rate monitoring, improved sleep tracking, and PAI integration.

See price at Amazon

See price at Amazon

See price at Amazon

A: Yes. It features a 5ATM rating.

Crypto Recovery Rally Is No More! But What Caused The Disruption?

The on-setting of another crypto winter can stop the crypto recovery rally at the end of 2023

The highly volatile crypto market has started experiencing some hard and drastic crypto crash with popular cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin or stablecoins like Tether and Terra. The crypto crash season started in 2023 and reached its highest peak from May to July 2023. Crypto investors are stuck in-between waiting for a crypto recovery rally or set to incur huge losses in this bear market rally. But crypto recovery rally helped Bitcoin to reach US$24k from US$17k in 2023. Thus, crypto investors are highly disappointed that the crypto recovery rally has stopped occurring in the crypto market post-crypto crash ecosystem. Let’s dig deep into the causes of disruption in the highly volatile crypto market. Crypto investors were coping with the crypto winter season due to several crypto crash cases. The improvement in prices of Bitcoin, Tether, Ethereum, and many more provided hope to crypto investors that the drastic period of the crypto crash is getting over through this crypto recovery rally. But the bear market rally has been successful in creating tension among crypto investors.  Long-term crypto investors hold onto their cryptocurrency assets with faith in a crypto recovery rally. There are multiple cryptocurrency projects from Ethereum, Shiba Inu, Cardano, and more that are helping in improving the current prices. But crypto investors have the understanding that the crypto market is nowhere near the status of crypto market in 2023. Meanwhile, some crypto analysts have analyzed that cryptocurrency liquidity has started recovering as the market cap of stablecoin has stopped dropping in the crypto market. It is still down by around 20% from the all-time high range. Still, the pause in the crypto recovery rally has started tightening the financial conditions for crypto investors. It has been speculated that the situation will be hard for the cryptocurrency cycle to the bottom level without fiat leverage growing.

The highly volatile crypto market has started experiencing some hard and drastic crypto crash with popular cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin or stablecoins like Tether and Terra. The crypto crash season started in 2023 and reached its highest peak from May to July 2023. Crypto investors are stuck in-between waiting for a crypto recovery rally or set to incur huge losses in this bear market rally. But crypto recovery rally helped Bitcoin to reach US$24k from US$17k in 2023. Thus, crypto investors are highly disappointed that the crypto recovery rally has stopped occurring in the crypto market post-crypto crash ecosystem. Let’s dig deep into the causes of disruption in the highly volatile crypto market. Crypto investors were coping with the crypto winter season due to several crypto crash cases. The improvement in prices of Bitcoin, Tether, Ethereum, and many more provided hope to crypto investors that the drastic period of the crypto crash is getting over through this crypto recovery rally. But the bear market rally has been successful in creating tension among crypto investors. Long-term crypto investors hold onto their cryptocurrency assets with faith in a crypto recovery rally. There are multiple cryptocurrency projects from Ethereum, Shiba Inu, Cardano, and more that are helping in improving the current prices. But crypto investors have the understanding that the crypto market is nowhere near the status of crypto market in 2023. Meanwhile, some crypto analysts have analyzed that cryptocurrency liquidity has started recovering as the market cap of stablecoin has stopped dropping in the crypto market. It is still down by around 20% from the all-time high range. Still, the pause in the crypto recovery rally has started tightening the financial conditions for crypto investors. It has been speculated that the situation will be hard for the cryptocurrency cycle to the bottom level without fiat leverage growing. It has been speculated that the crypto market still will need two to three months to gain a more stabilized situation for crypto investors. It is because another crypto winter with crypto crash cases can be set in for popular cryptocurrencies. Thus, crypto investors can prioritize budget, and savings, create diversified portfolios and make smart investment decisions with cryptocurrencies and possibly incur losses.

Financial Report Of Xiaomi For The First Quarter Of 2023: Overview

In the smartphone business, in the first quarter of 2023, Xiaomi’s smartphone revenue was 30.3 billion yuan ($4.25 billion), an increase of 12.3% year-on-year; shipments reached 29.2 million units, an increase of 4.7% year-on-year. Driven by 5G high-end models, the average selling price of Xiaomi smartphones increased by 7.2% in the first quarter of 2023.

In addition, this quarter, Xiaomi also has new perspectives on globalization. According to the financial report of Xiaomi, the overseas market revenue was 24.8 billion yuan ($3.48 billion), a year-on-year increase of 47.8%. And the proportion of total revenue reached 50% for the first time.

Dual-brand strategy and 5G boost ASP by 7.2%

In 2023, Xiaomi split the Xiaomi brand and the Redmi brand. In addition, the 4G-to-5G switch that began in 2023 also brought a certain opportunity for the Xiaomi brand.

During the epidemic, Xiaomi released the Xiaomi Mi 10 5G flagship series. According to the financial report of Xiaomi, its shipments exceeded 1 million units within 2 months after the sale.

Driven by 5G high-end models, the average selling price of Xiaomi’s smartphones increased by 7.2% in the first quarter of 2023. Among them, the average selling price of smartphones in the mainland China market increased by 18.7% year-on-year, and the overseas market increased by 13.7% year-on-year.

This quarter, the Redmi brand also laid out multiple price segments. For example, it launched the K30 Pro equipped with the Snapdragon 865 processor for the premium market. In the low-end Note series, the global sales of the Redmi Note 8 series exceeded 30 million units.

In terms of smartphone gross margin, it increased from 3.3% in the first quarter of 2023 to 8.1% in the first quarter of 2023. Xiaomi said that with the continuous promotion of the dual-brand strategy, it is expected that the average selling price of Xiaomi smartphones will continue to rise in 2023.

The steady growth of IoT business affects transportation and installation

The financial report of Xiaomi shows the consumer goods industry was greatly affected by the epidemic. And the production, transportation, and sales of white goods and television were affected by the epidemic. In this quarter, Xiaomi’s IoT and consumer products business continued to grow. During the reporting period, revenue reached 13 billion yuan ($1.82 billion), an increase of 7.8% year-on-year.

During the reporting period, as of March 31, 2023, without including smartphones and laptops, the number of connected IoT devices on the Xiaomi IoT platform reached 252 million units, a year-on-year increase of 42.6%. The number of users of Xiaomi IoT platform devices increased to 4.6 million, a year-on-year increase of 67.9%.

In the first quarter of 2023, 2.7 million units of Xiaomi Smart TV were shipped globally. According to the financial report of Xiaomi, it has increased by 3% year-on-year when the overall scale of the Chinese mainland market declined.

Gizchina News of the week

Join GizChina on Telegram

Wang Xiang, president of Xiaomi, said in a conference call that there were some categories in this quarter, including TVs, whose installation was greatly troubled. The second quarter is in the process of recovery. In addition, Wang Xiang said that Xiaomi has also launched a larger TV, adding new categories, continuing to raise TV products at different price segments, and developing new market areas. For example, during the reporting period, Xiaomi released the Redmi Smart TV ‘MAX98’ giant-screen TV, priced from 19999 yuan ($2802).

Internet business accounted for more than 10%, gross margin decreased

During the reporting period, Xiaomi’s Internet service revenue was 5.9 billion yuan ($0.83 billion), a year-on-year increase of 38.6%. And its share of overall revenue exceeded 10%, reaching 11.9%.

The user activity of Internet services increased significantly. According to the financial report of Xiaomi, in March 2023, MIUI monthly active users reached 330 million, an increase of 26.7% year-on-year. Among them, the monthly active users of MIUI in the mainland are 110 million.

Also Read: Xiaomi Active Users Exceed 500 Million Worldwide

Wang Xiang said that the substantial increase in revenue from Internet services is partly due to the fact that users spend more and more time on smartphones. This allows many of our smartphone-related businesses, such as gaming, to grow.

In the first quarter of 2023, Xiaomi’s overseas market revenue reached 24.8 billion yuan ($3.48 billion), a year-on-year increase of 47.8%, and overseas market revenue accounted for 50% of total revenue. This is the first time in the history of Xiaomi that the contribution of overseas income has reached half, and this proportion was 44.3% in 2023.

According to Canalys data, the shipment of Xiaomi smartphones in Europe increased by 58.3% year-on-year in the first quarter of 2023, and the market share exceeded 10% to 14.3%. This is of great significance for expanding operator channels. At the same time, shipments of smartphones in the Western European market increased by 79.3% year-on-year. Among them, the market share in Spain ranked first for the first time, with a market share of 28%. It is in the top four in Italy, Germany, and France.

In the Indian market, according to IDC statistics, in the first quarter of 2023, Xiaomi smartphones have maintained the number one shipment in India for 11 consecutive quarters, with a market share of 31.2%. Xiaomi is also accelerating in Latin America and the Middle East And the layout of the African region.

However, after the epidemic in China, it also broke out on a large scale. This also puts a certain pressure on Xiaomi’s second-quarter results.

Xiaomi President Wang Xiang said that 100% of China’s supply system has been restored, and India’s resumption of work is still in its infancy. The country’s government has just begun to lift the ban gradually. It is expected that recovery will take time. He revealed that India is currently recovering 60%. But future changes will depend on the prevention and control of the epidemic.

In the European market, Wang Xiang said that the recovery situation is better than the Indian market. At present, Xiaomi’s smartphone activation rate in the European market is about 90%, which is higher than the normal level. ‘This is a good signal. But we still think that the second quarter will be a challenge to our business growth.‘

Carrier Apps Appear In Nexus 6: No Surprise

Carrier apps appear in Nexus 6: no surprise

Just as Google said they would, Verizon apps have appeared on the Nexus 6 after the device’s update to Android 5.1. As it was foretold at the dawn of Android 5.0 Lollipop, so it has come to pass: Nexus devices with carrier apps onboard. Just like it was in the past. Just as it shall be in the future. While these apps will not be kept by some users, most never see them – and some will expect that they’d been there all along, as all Verizon phones have similar apps.

Behold, the Verizon Galaxy Nexus all over again. Only not really. This time the Verizon apps aren’t in the system when you first purchase it. They come when you update to the newest version of Android Lollipop.

Behold, the article entitled Android Lollipop and the Automatic Carrier App Updates.

ABOVE: Verizon’s Backup app appears in system partition of Nexus 6 devices both in the United States and abroad.

But wait a second, you might be saying, didn’t Google suggest that these apps would be appearing outside of the device’s system partition?

Yes! That is indeed what was said.

But Google also suggested that these apps would be appearing upon system setup, not upgrade. “What happens now is when you’ve got a Verizon SIM in the device, it actually installs Verizon apps as part of the setup flow,” said Google’s VP of engineering for the Android platform and Nexus devices Dave Burke, “and then you can remove them if you want as part of the Play Infrastructure.”

Google’s Android group product manager Gabe Cohen added: “they’re not part of the system partition.”

But wait a second, you might also be saying, did Google really promise this?

Not so much. Google was actually speaking about the “what ifs” and “maybe” abilities of Lollipop back in October when the above quotes were quoted.

Some users have reported that they’re getting multiple carrier apps with this update – SprintDM, T-Mobile MyAccount, and Verizon’s account app.

It could be that a single update to all Nexus 6 devices is including all included carrier apps in the partition. Not all apps are activated – but they are there.

Verizon:

com.motorola.android.buacontactadapter

com.verizon.omadm

com.verizon.permissions.appdirectedsms

com.vzw.apnservice

Sprint:

com.android.sdm.plugins.sprintdm

com.android.sprint.lifetimedata

Above you’ll see package names for each of the Verizon and Sprint apps included on the most updated version of Android with the Nexus 6. To remove these – at your own risk, the ADB shell command to remove is “pm disable [package]”.

Below you’ll see a list of apps that were added with the Android 5.1 update to Nexus 6.

– Backup Assistant Plus

– com.android.moto.appdirectedsms

– com.android.sdm.plugins.dcmo

– com.android.sdm.plugins.diagmon

– com.motorola.service.ims

– com.qualcomm.atfwd

– com.qualcomm.qti.rcsimsbootstraputil

– com.verizon.permissions.appdirectedsms

– DM Config Update

– Google Connectivity Services

– Hidden Menu

– MotoSignatureApp

– org.codeaurora.ims

– RCSService 5.1-eng.ameyat

– VZWAPN

Most of these apps are not from Verizon – most of them are for Android or summoned by Motorola specifically.

Over at the XDA thread on this subject there’s a battle going on between those that suggest these apps are normal an those that would rather DIE than have any apps they didn’t want on their smartphone. Please feel free to lend your opinion there or here – have at it!

How To Unlock The Bootloader Of Your Nexus Device

All the Android devices out there usually ship with a locked bootloader to prevent users from messing up their devices. The intention behind this is to prevent less tech-savvy users from flashing some third-party apps that could brick the device. The good thing is most manufacturers do provide a way to unlock the bootloader in case you are not afraid of taking a risk. Once you have unlocked your bootloader, you can then flash custom recoveries, custom ROMs and do all sorts of tasks you cannot do on a device with a locked bootloader. The unlocking bootloader method varies with devices; the procedure below shows how to unlock Nexus devices’ bootloader.

Things You Should Know:

Unlocking your bootloader voids your warranty, so do it at your own risk.

The procedure below only works on Windows based PCs. It may work on other OSes, but for that you will have to make some modifications in the commands.

It is possible to relock your bootloader in case you ever want to do that.

This procedure will wipe off all the data stored on your device. Make sure to first make a backup before jumping in.

Unlocking the Nexus Devices’ Bootloader:

In order to unlock your bootloader, you will need a tool called Fastboot. It helps make interaction between your PC and your device possible. Download it and extract files from it to any folder on your PC, preferably on the root of any drive on your PC.

1. The first step is to enable “Developer options” on your device.

2. Then head back to Settings and tap on “Developer options.” Look for the option that says “USB debugging.” Tap on it and it will be enabled.

3. Connect your Nexus device to your PC using a compatible cable.

5. A command prompt window should appear with your current directory as working directory. Just type the following command into it and press ENTER. It will reboot your device into bootloader mode:

6. When a big Android logo appears on your device’s screen, issue the following command. It is for unlocking the booloader of your device.

7. As soon as you issue the above command, a prompt will appear on your device. Tap on “Yes” and it will erase all the data stored on your device and unlock your bootloader.

Congratulations. Your Nexus device’s booloader is now unlocked. You are now free to root your device, install a custom recovery, flash custom ROMs and so on. The sky is the limit!

Conclusion:

The choice to unlock the bootloader given by the manufacturers is awesome as it lets fearless users like us tinker with our devices the way we want. It really helps unveil the true power that lies within the device.

Mahesh Makvana

Mahesh Makvana is a freelance tech writer who’s written thousands of posts about various tech topics on various sites. He specializes in writing about Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android tech posts. He’s been into the field for last eight years and hasn’t spent a single day without tinkering around his devices.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox

Sign up for all newsletters.

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy. We will not share your data and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Update the detailed information about Xiaomi Mi 4C Review: Half The Price Of The Nexus 5X, But No Rival on the Moimoishop.com website. We hope the article's content will meet your needs, and we will regularly update the information to provide you with the fastest and most accurate information. Have a great day!